Birth Chart

July 13, 2018

How To Read Your Birth Chart


Have you read your horoscope today? If so, perhaps you found that a windfall of money, or even new romance is in your path. For most people, this is all a horoscope is: a short article in a newspaper, magazine, or website that claims to foresee your future based only on your birth month. However, the practice of correlating our lives to celestial calculations goes far deeper than this. In fact, a true horoscope, also known as a birth chart, is an advanced astrology chart depicting the heavenly bodies in relation to an individual’s time, date, and place of birth. Although many write off the media’s horoscopes as too broad or inaccurate, upon studying your true horoscope, astrology’s precision is palpable. In order to begin analysing a chart, however, you’ll need to understand its basic elements: the astrology wheel, planets, signs, and houses.


While pop astrology primarily harps on the Sun, in fact, each planet governs a different aspect of our lives. In short, Moon is our mind; Mercury is our intellect; Venus is our sense of beauty; Sun is our soul; Mars is our actions; Jupiter is our wisdom; Saturn is our discipline; Uranus is our revolutionary spark; Neptune is our spirituality; and Pluto is destruction. In understanding the ins and outs of each planetary body, deep insight can be gained into how its energies impact your life.


If the planets represent the elements of our being, zodiac signs are their personality. Typically, in popular media, only the Sun sign is analyzed; however, every planet from the Moon to Pluto has its own sign in your horoscope. So, while you may have a Capricorn Sun, you might also have Moon, Mars, and Venus in Cancer. For this individual, the compassionate, motherly energy of Cancer is much stronger than the cold, calculating nature of Capricorn. This is the reason why many people don’t identify with their Sun sign. However, when your Sun Sign is used in combination with all other astrological aspects, you can get an extremely accurate depiction of your true personality. For instance, knowing whether your zodiac sign is a cardinal sign, mutable sign, or fixed sign, can make a huge difference in how you perceive and interpret your Sun Sign.


Just as the Sun rises and sets, the zodiac signs and planets do as well. Every two hours, the sign rising on the Eastern horizon changes. This point, due East, is known as your ascendant, or first house. From this point, the sky is divided into twelve divisions called houses. Each astrology house governs a different area of your life. For example, the first house rules your personality as a whole; the second house shows your values; the fourth house shows your home; seventh house shows relationships; and ninth house shows religion and travel. The planets and signs that occupy these houses will impact how that area manifests for you.


So, in summary, the planets are your internal elements, the signs are their personality, and the houses are the external facets of your life. Now that you know the basics, you’re ready to start exploring your true horoscope. However, don’t get too comfortable, because astrology goes far deeper than these simple elements. As you begin to acquire this knowledge and dive deeper into your birth chart, you’ll certainly find new meaning in the phrase, “it’s written in the stars.”

3 thoughts on “How To Read Your Birth Chart”

  1. Pingback: The Planets in Astrology: How They Reveal Your Secrets -

  2. Pingback: Astrological Chart Reading: Part 2 -

  3. Pingback: Important Elements of Birth Chart: Astrological Chart Reading [Part 2]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Suggested Blogs

Join our Newsletter!

Personalized Daily, Weekly, & Monthly Horoscopes
Subscribe Now
Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

:star2: Hey! Enjoying Our Content? :rainbow:

We notice you're using an ad blocker, and we totally get it – nobody likes annoying ads.:sweat_smile:
But, here's the thing: our website relies on ads to keep the lights on and provide you with the awesome content you love.

By disabling your ad blocker, you're not just supporting us; you're helping to ensure that we can continue creating the content you enjoy, absolutely free!
Think of it as a small favor that goes a long way.If you're feeling generous today, consider whitelisting us – it takes just a click, and you'll be our hero! :male_superhero:
Thanks a bunch for being part of our community! :rocket:
Change privacy settings